Union/Confederate horse brands

A forum for general topics and questions.
crazeesharon

Hi, I'm new here. I'm a writer, and I'm looking for reference material regarding the kinds and locations of brands used by the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War for both cavalry and artillery horses. Any guidance would be appreciated.
Kentucky Horseman
Last Name: Rudolph

US was the offical brand for the US government in that era and might still be used for other horse like those of the border partol and other forces that still use horses. There was also a 4 part brand of a cross with a number on each part of it exspect for one which had a latter. this showed the regiment, troop, and the number of the platoon and the trooper to whom the horse was issued to, I think that brand was there but I am not sure if I am right or wrong there.
Pat Holscher
Society Member
Last Name: Holscher

Kentucky Horseman wrote:US was the offical brand for the US government in that era and might still be used for other horse like those of the border partol and other forces that still use horses. There was also a 4 part brand of a cross with a number on each part of it exspect for one which had a latter. this showed the regiment, troop, and the number of the platoon and the trooper to whom the horse was issued to, I think that brand was there but I am not sure if I am right or wrong there.
I've bumped a thread up on the US brand.
Johnsod42